Our Members

Prof Jin-Guang Teng
Elected as Member of ASHK in 2023

BEng (Zhejiang University); PhD (The University of Sydney); Member, Chinese Academy of Science; Fellow, Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences; Fellow, The International Institute for FRP in ConstructionMember; Fellow, The Institution of Structural Engineers; Fellow, The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers; Fellow, American Society of Civil Engineers; Corresponding Fellow, The Royal Society of Edinburgh; Member, The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences

Brief Description

Chair Professor of Structural Engineering
President, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Professor Jin-Guang Teng assumed office as President of The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) on 1 July 2019. Prior to his current appointment, Professor Teng was Vice-President and Dean of Graduate School of the Southern University of Science and Technology.

Professor Teng was born in Wenzhou, China. He received his BEng Degree from Zhejiang University in 1983. He pursued further study at the University of Sydney, Australia, and obtained his PhD degree in 1990. He spent about two years as a visiting PhD student and then researcher at The University of Edinburgh, the United Kingdom, from 1989 to 1991. From 1991 to 1994, he served as a Lecturer and then Senior Lecturer at the then James Cook University of North Queensland, Australia. He joined the then Hong Kong Polytechnic as a Lecturer in the Department of Civil and Structural Engineering in October 1994 and rose through the ranks to become Chair Professor in January 2005. He has served in various academic leadership roles at PolyU over the years, including as Associate Dean of Faculty of Construction and Land Use (2005 – 2006), Associate Vice President (2006 – 2010), Dean of Faculty of Construction and Land Use/Faculty of Construction and Environment (2007 – 2013), and Director of Research Institute for Sustainable Urban Development (2012 – 2018).

A well-accomplished and distinguished scholar in the field of structural engineering, Professor Teng has authored one book and over 200 SCI journal papers. His publications have been widely cited by researchers globally, and many of his research findings have been adopted in relevant design codes/guidelines in China, Australia, Europe, the United Kingdom and the United States. 

Professor Teng’s outstanding academic achievements have earned him numerous accolades, both locally and overseas. He was elected in 2017 as a Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, which is the highest academic title in the field of science and technology in China. He was also elected as a Member of The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences in 2023, a Corresponding Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 2015, and a Fellow of the Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences in 2013. He won the State Natural Science Award of China (Second Class) in 2013 and the Distinguished Young Scholar Award from the National Natural Science Foundation of China in 2004. At PolyU, Professor Teng was the recipient of The President’s Award for Excellent Performance/Achievement 2013/2014 in the category of Research and Scholarly Activities. 

In addition, Professor Teng plays a significant role in promoting innovation and technology in Hong Kong and beyond. He is currently serving as the President of the Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences and as a Member of the Committee on Innovation, Technology and Industry Development of the Hong Kong SAR Government. He was also appointed as a Non-official Justice of the Peace in 2021 and a Member of the 14th Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference in 2023.

 

Website of Prof Teng at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

January 2024

Back

 

Back to top

我們的院士

滕錦光教授
2023年當選為香​港科學院院士

 

工學學士(浙江大學); 博士(澳洲悉尼大學);  中國科學院院士; 香港工程科學院院士; 愛丁堡皇家學會通訊院士;
香港工程師學會資深會員;  英國結構工程師學會
資深會員; 國際土木工程複合材料學會資深會
美國土木工程師學會
資深會; 香港科學院院士

簡介

香港理工大學校長及結構工程講座教授

滕錦光教授自2019年7月1日起擔任香港理工大學(理大)校長,此前滕教授為南方科技大學副校長兼研究生院院長。

滕教授生於中國溫州,1983年在浙江大學取得工學學士學位,其後赴澳洲悉尼大學深造,於1990年獲頒授博士學位。1989至1991年間在英國愛丁堡大學先後作訪問博士研究生和研究人員,進行了為期約兩年的研究工作。1991至1994年間在澳洲詹姆士庫克大學(James Cook University of North Queensland)先後任職講師、高級講師。1994年10月出任香港理工學院土木及結構工程學系講師一職,及後逐步晉升至講座教授(2005年1月)。在理大服務期間,滕教授亦曾先後擔任不同的學術領導崗位,包括出任建設及地政學院副院長(2005年至2006年)、協理副校長(2006年至2010年)、建設及地政學院/建設及環境學院院長(2007年至2013年),以及可持續城市發展研究院院長(2012年至2018年)。

滕教授是成就不凡的結構工程學者,曾出版專著以及兩百多篇SCI期刊論文,著作為世界各地的研究人員廣泛引用,而多項科研成果亦獲中國、澳洲、歐洲、英國及美國的設計標準和指南所採納。

滕教授傑出的學術成就享譽中外,屢受表揚。2017年榮獲中國科技界最高學術榮銜――中國科學院院士。此外,他於2023年當選為香港科學院院士,2015年當選為愛丁堡皇家學會通訊院士,2013年當選為香港工程科學院院士。滕教授多年來獲得眾多獎項,其中包括2013年度獲頒「國家自然科學獎」二等獎,2004年獲頒「國家傑出青年科學基金」,並且獲理大頒發「2013/14年度校長特設卓越表現/成就獎」(研究及學術活動)。

滕教授亦積極推動香港及其他地區的創新和科技發展。他現任香港工程科學院院長以及香港特別行政區政府創新科技與產業發展委員會成員。此外,他於2021年獲委任為香港特別行政區非官守太平紳士,並於2023年成為第十四屆中國人民政治協商會議全國委員會委員。

 

滕錦光教授於香港理工大學的網站

2024年1月

Back

 

回到最上