Our Members

Prof Tony F CHAN

Elected as ASHK Founding Member in 2015

 

Member, US National Academy of Engineering (NAE); Senior member, Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE); Elected Fellow, Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM); Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science; Member,
American Mathematical Society; Founding Member, The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences

Brief Introduction

President

King Abdullah University of Science and Technology 

Prof Tony F Chan assumed the presidency of King Abdullah University of Science of Technolog (KAUST) on 1 September 2018. From 2009-2018, Prof Chan was the President of The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.  From 2006-2009, Prof Chan was Assistant Director of the Mathematical and Physical Sciences Directorate at the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), which is the largest directorate at NSF. In that position, he guided and managed research funding in astronomy, physics, chemistry, mathematical science, material science, and multidisciplinary activities.


Prof Chan’s scientific background is in Mathematics, Computer Science and Engineering. He received his BS and MS degrees in Engineering from the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) and his PhD in Computer Science from Stanford University. He pursued postdoctoral research at Caltech as Research Fellow, and taught Computer Science at Yale University before joining the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) as Professor of Mathematics in 1986. He was appointed Chair of the Department of Mathematics in 1997 and served as Dean of Physical Sciences from 2001 to 2006. He also holds honorary joint appointments with the University’s BioEngineering Department and the Computer Science Department.


Prof Chan was one of the principal investigators who made the successful proposal to the NSF to form the Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics (IPAM) at UCLA. He served as IPAM’s Director from 2000 to 2001.


Prof Chan is an active member of many scientific societies. He is an elected member of the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE), a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), an elected fellow of both the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and a member of the American Mathematical Society. Professor Chan has served on the editorial boards of many journals in mathematics and computing, including SIAM Review, SIAM Journal of Scientific Computing, and the Asian Journal of Mathematics, and is one of the three Editors-in-Chief of Numerische Mathematik. He co-wrote the proposal to start a new SIAM Journal of Imaging Sciences and serves on its inaugural editorial board till 2012. He formerly served on the NSF Mathematical and Physical Sciences Advisory Committee and the US National Committee for Mathematics, and was one of five US representatives to the General Assembly of the International Union of Mathematicians in 2006.


Prof Chan is currently a member of the Board of Trustees of the King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST) in Saudi Arabia, President’s Advisory Council of the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Scientific Advisory Board of the University of Vienna, and the United States Committee of 100. Prof Chan is also a member of the Advisory Committee on Innovation and Technology of the Hong Kong Government. He was a member of the Selection Committee for the Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences in 2012 and 2013.


Prof Chan’s research interests include mathematical image processing and computer vision, Very Large-Scale Integration (VLSI) physical design and computational brain mapping. He has published over 200 refereed papers and was one of the most cited mathematicians in the world. He has mentored over 35 PhD students and 25 postdoctoral fellows.

 

Website of Prof Tony Chan at King Abdullah University of Science of Technology

January 2021

 

Back

 

Back to top

我們的院士

陳繁昌教授

2015年當選為香港科學院創院院士

 

美國國家工程院院士;美國電機電子工程師學會資深會員;美國工業及應用數學學會院士;
美國科學促進會院士;美國數學學會會員;香港科學院創院院士

簡介

布杜拉國王科技大學校長

陳繁昌教授於2018年9月1日出任布杜拉國王科技大學校長。2009至2018年期間,陳教授是香港科技大學校長。2006年至2009年期間,陳教授是美國國家科學基金委員會助理會長,掌管數學及自然科學部。這是基金屬下八個學術部門中最大的部門。陳教授負責統籌及管理部門的科研經費,範圍涵蓋天文、物理、化學、數學、材料科學以及跨學科活動。


陳教授專長於數學、計算機科學和工程學的研究。他在美國加州理工大學取得理學士和理學碩士(均為工程學)學位,並於史丹福大學取得哲學博士(計算機科學)學位。之後,他在加州理工大學擔任應用數學研究員,並在耶魯大學教授計算機科學。他於1986年加入加州大學洛杉磯分校為數學系教授,1997年晉升為數學系主任,並於2001年至2006年期間出任該校的自然科學學院院長。他亦同時在該校的計算機科學學系和生物工程學系擔任榮譽聯合教席。


陳教授曾以首席研究員身分,向美國國家科學基金成功建議在加州大學洛杉磯分校成立國家純數及應用數學研究所,旨在將數學科學與一般科學和工程學科結合研究。2000年至2001年間,他出任該研究所主任。


陳教授是多個科研機構的活躍成員。他是美國國家工程院院士、美國電機電子工程師學會資深會員、美國工業及應用數學學會院士、美國科學促進會院士和美國數學學會會員。此外,陳教授也是多個數學和運算學期刊的編輯委員會成員;這些期刊包括《工業及應用數學學會評論》、《工業及應用數學學會科學運算學學報》及《亞洲數學學報》。此外,他也是德國《Numerische Mathematik學報》的三位總編輯之一。他參與撰寫建議書,成功倡議成立《工業及應用數學學會造像科學學報》,並成為創刊編輯委員會成員至2012年。陳教授也曾擔任美國國家科學基金數學及自然科學顧問委員會以及美國國家數學委員會會員,是出席2006年國際數學同盟會員大會五位美國代表之一。


陳教授是沙特阿拉伯阿卜杜拉國王科技大學(KAUST)董事會成員、韓國科學技術院(KAIST)校長諮詢委員會委員、奥地利維也納大學科學顧問委員會委員和美國百人會會員。陳教授也是香港特別行政區政府創新及科技諮詢委員會委員。他於2012至2013年間擔任邵逸夫數學科學獎遴選委員會委員。


陳教授的研究範疇包括數學造影處理及計算機視像、大規模整合物理設計,以及運算大腦製圖。他出版了超過200份被推薦的學術論文,曾是世界上最常被引述的其中一位數學家。他曾指導過35位博士生及25位博士後研究員。

 

陳繁昌教授於布杜拉國王科技大學的網站

2021年1月

 

Back

 

回到最上