Our Members

Prof Joseph J Y SUNG, SBS, JP

Elected as ASHK Founding Member in 2015

 

MB BS (HKU); PhD (Calgary); MD (CUHK); FRCP (London); FRCP (Edinburgh); FRCP (Glasgow); FRACP; FAGA; FACG; FHKCP; FHKAM (Medicine); Founding Member of The Hong Kong Academy of ​Sciences

Brief Introduction

Senior Vice President (Health & Life Sciences) 
Dean, Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine
Distinguished University Professor
National Technological University, Singapore

Prof Joseph J Y Sung received his medical degree (MB BS) from The University of Hong Kong in 1983, and was conferred PhD in biomedical sciences by the University of Calgary in 1992 and MD by The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) in 1997. Prof Sung holds fellowships from the Royal Colleges of Physicians of Edinburgh, Glasgow, London, and Australia, the American College of Gastroenterology, the American Gastroenterological Association, the Hong Kong College of Physicians, and the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine. He was the 7th Vice-Chancellor / President of CUHK and Mok Hing Yiu Professor of Medicine of CUHK, an Academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering of the People's Republic of China, and Academician of the Eurasian Academy of Sciences.  He is currently Senior Vice President (Health & Life Sciences), Dean of Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine and Distinguished University Professor in National Technological University, Singapore.

As a renowned scientist in gastroenterology, Prof Sung’s research interests include intestinal bleeding, Helicobacter Pylori, peptic ulcer, hepatitis B, colorectal cancer, and other cancers related to the digestive system. Prof Sung and his team proved the relationship between H. Pylori and peptic ulcer diseases. They were first in demonstrating that a course of antibiotics lasting a week can cure H. Pylori infection and successfully treat peptic ulcers and minimize their relapse. At the same time, he and his research team pioneered the use of endoscopic treatment for ulcer bleeding to reduce the need for operative surgery. These research results have a major impact on and have changed the practice of gastroenterology worldwide. 

Prof Sung is a renowned researcher in gastroenterology and hepatology. He led a group of experts from 15 Asia-Pacific countries to launch colorectal cancer screening research in 2004, and has laid down clear guidelines and promoted colorectal screenings in the region. Because of his work in cancer screening and prevention, Prof Sung was honoured by the Prevent Cancer Foundation of the United States with the Laurel Award in 2008. In 2009, his seminal lectures on peptic ulcer bleeding won him the Marshall and Warren Lecture Award. In the same year, he was also awarded the Endoscopy Award of the German Society of Gastroenterology. In 2013, he received the Master of the World Gastroenterology Organization (WGO) Award from the World Gastroenterology Organization & WGO Foundation.

His contributions to the advancement of medical sciences and academic development have been recognized locally and regionally with awards such as the Outstanding Staff and Team Award (Hospital Authority, 1998), the Eminent Scientist of the Year 2003 (The International Research Promotion Council, 2003), the Vice-Chancellor's Exemplary Teaching Award (CUHK, 2003), the Silver Bauhinia Star (HKSAR Government, 2004), Cheung Kong Achievement Award (Ministry of Education, The People's Republic of China (PRC) and the Li Ka Shing Foundation, 2006), The Most Outstanding Contribution Award (Clinical Therapeutics) (Food and Health Bureau, HKSAR Government, 2007), the Ho Leung Ho Lee Advancement Prize (The Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation, 2011), First-Class, Scientific and Technological Progress Award of the Higher Education Outstanding Scientific Research Output Awards (The Ministry of Education, PRC, 2011, 2014 & 2015), First-Class, Technological Advancement Award of the Higher Education Outstanding Scientific Research Output Awards (The Ministry of Education, PRC, 2013), the World Outstanding Chinese Award (the World Chinese Business Investment Foundation and the United World Chinese Association, 2013), and the Hong Kong Fulbright Distinguished Scholar Award (HKSAR Government, 2014).

 

Website of Prof Joseph Sung at National Technological University, Singapore

April 2021

 

Back

 

Back to top

我們的院士

沈祖堯教授

2015年當選為香港科學院創院院士
 

內外全科醫學士(港大);PhD (Calgary);醫學博士(中大); FRCP (London);FRCP (Edinburgh); FRCP (Glasgow);FRACP;FAGA;FACG; FHKCP;FHKAM (Medicine); 香港科學院創院院士

簡介

李光前醫學院院長
高級副校長
傑出學者
新加坡南洋理工大學

沈祖堯教授於1983年獲香港大學內外全科醫學士學位,隨後於1992年獲加拿大卡爾加里大學頒授博士學位(生命科學),以及1997年獲香港中文大學頒授醫學博士學位。沈教授為英國(包括愛丁堡、格拉斯哥及倫敦)皇家內科醫學院院士、澳洲皇家內科醫學院院士、美國腸胃病學學院院士、美國腸胃學會院士、香港內科醫學院院士及香港醫學專科學院院士。沈教授為香港中文大學第七任校長及香港中文大學莫慶堯醫學講座教授。沈教授現任新加坡南洋理工大學李光前醫學院院長、高級副校長及傑出學者並為中國工程院院士,以及歐亞科學院院士。

沈教授為腸胃研究權威,研究範圍包括腸胃出血、幽門螺旋菌、消化性潰瘍、肝炎、大腸癌以及與消化系統相關的癌症。他率領的研究團隊證實了幽門螺旋菌與胃潰瘍的關係,並最先證明只需為期一周的抗生素療程,即可消除胃內的幽門螺旋菌感染,治癒胃潰瘍,大幅減低潰瘍復發的危險。同時,沈教授及其研究隊伍率先以內視鏡治療潰瘍出血,減低手術的需要;有關研究成果,為全球腸胃科的治療潰瘍方法帶來深遠影響。

沈教授為領導全球腸胃及肝科研究的先驅,他帶領十五個亞太國家的專家,自2004年起展開大腸癌篩查研究,擬定清晰普查指引,在亞太地區提倡大腸癌篩查。為表彰沈教授對篩查及防預癌症的貢獻,美國防癌基金會在2008年頒授桂冠獎予沈教授。2009年,他憑其胃潰瘍出血治療的優秀研究,獲頒亞太地區腸胃科最高獎項的Marshall 及 Warren 講座獎。同年,他亦獲德國腸胃病學協會內鏡獎。2013年,他獲世界胃腸病學組織及基金頒發 The Master of the World Gastroenterology Organization (WGO) Award。

沈教授在醫療服務及醫學研究上成就卓越,獲頒多項本港及國際獎項,包括香港醫院管理局傑出員工及團隊獎(1998)、The International Research Promotion Council 頒發 Eminent Scientist of the Year 2003、中大校長模範教學獎(2003)、香港特別行政區政府銀紫荊星章(2004)、中華人民共和國國家教育部及李嘉誠基金會頒發的長江學者成就獎(2006)、香港特別行政區政府食物及衛生局最突出貢獻獎(臨床治療)(2007)、何梁何利基金頒發何梁何利科學與技術進步獎(2011)、中華人民共和國國家教育部高等學校科學研究優秀成果獎(科學技術)自然科學獎一等獎(2011、2014及2015)、中華人民共和國國家教育部高等學校科學研究優秀成果獎(科學技術)科技進步獎一等獎(2013)、世界華商投資基金會與世界華人協會聯合頒發世界傑出華人獎(2013)、香港特別行政區政府新聞處富布賴特香港傑出學者獎(2014)等等。

 

沈祖堯教授於新加坡南洋理工大學的網站

2021年4月

Back

 

回到最上