Our Members

 

Prof Kwok-Yung YUEN

Elected as ASHK Founding Member in 2015
 

MBBS(HK), MD(HK), FRCS(Glas), FRCPath(UK), FRCP(Edin & Lond), Academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering,

Founding Member of The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences

Brief Introduction

Henry Fok Professor in Infectious Diseases

 Chair of Infectious Diseases, Department of Microbiology, Faculty of Medicine

Chief of Service, Department of Microbiology, Queen Mary Hospital

 Member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering (Basic Medicine)

Co-Director, State Key Laboratory of Emerging Infectious Diseases

Prof Kwok-Yung Yuen, who graduated from The University of Hong Kong in 1981 and heads the Department of Microbiology from 2002 to 2011, has the rare distinction of being a microbiologist, surgeon and physician.

 

His success in these three areas is exemplified by his numerous Fellowships at distinguished institutions, including the Hong Kong Colleges of Pathologists, Surgeons and Physicians, the Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians(Lond and Edin), Surgeons(Glas) and Pathologists(UK), and also the Fellow of the American College of Physicians (USA). He was a Croucher Senior Medical Research Fellowship in 2006-2007 and was elected to the Chinese Academy of Engineering (Basic Medicine and Health) in 2007. He was awarded the Justice of Peace by the HKSAR in 2002 and the Silver Bauhinea Star Award of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of China in 2004.

 

In 2000, he was appointed the Scientific Co-director of the HKU-Pasteur Research Centre to set up a joint research venture between the Institute Pasteur and The University of Hong Kong because of his expertise in the area of emerging infectious diseases. His research strategy starts at the bedside by targeting patients with an obscure disease syndrome. He then moves to the laboratory to identify the novel microbe in clinical specimens. The animal source of the new microbe is then identified in the field. With these research data, he can help the government to contain outbreaks by controlling the epidemic center in the community, hospitals or animals. His leadership and experience have enabled him to rapidly mobilize and coordinate the joint effort of clinicians, microbiologists and epidemiologists in trying situations.

 

Widely known among specialists in infectious diseases, Prof Yuen made his mark in 2003 when the outbreak of Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome, or SARS, gripped the globe. He played a key role in the discovery of the agent causing SARS, the SARS coronavirus, thus leading to measures that were crucial to containing the outbreak of this disease. Throughout the years, he has led his team in the discovery of over 50 novel disease agents, including the novel Human Coronavirus HKU1, the bat SARS coronavirus, bat coronavirus HKU2 to 24, and many other bacteria, fungi and parasites named after Hong Kong or China. He published the first clinical and laboratory diagnostic paper on Influenza A H5N1 in the Lancet which has been cited over 500 times since 1998. The University of Hong Kong appointed to him the Henry Fok Professorship of Infectious Diseases in 2005. The Ministry of Science and Technology of China has given the honor of the State Key Laboratory of Emerging Infectious Diseases – the first State Key Laboratory outside the Mainland, to HKU in recognition of its exemplary contributions this area and Professor Yuen has been the first Co-Director of this laboratory.

 

He is one of the top 1% researchers in the world, as ranked by the Essential Science Indicator (ISI web), and has published more than 700 papers in peer reviewed journals including the Lancet, New England Journal of Medicine, Journal of Virology and PNAS, with over 25,000 citations. His field of research is novel microbes in emerging infectious diseases.

 

 

Website of Prof Kwok-Yung Yuen at University of Hong Kong 

 

 

January 2021 

 

Back

 

Back to top

我們的院士

袁國勇教授

2015年當選為香港科學​院創院院士
 

港大學內外全科醫學士;香港大學醫學博士;英國格拉斯哥皇家醫學院外科榮授院士;英國皇家病理科醫學院榮授院士;皇家內科醫學院榮授院士(愛丁堡,倫敦); 中國工程院院士;香港科學院創院院士

 

簡介

霍英東基金教授(傳染病學)

香港大學李嘉誠醫學院微生物學系講座教授

香港瑪麗醫院微生物學系主管

中國工程院醫藥衛生學部院士

香港大學新發傳染病國家重點實驗室

袁國勇教授1981年畢業於香港大學醫學院,並在2001年至2011年作為港大微生物學系的主任,他是個傑出的微生物學家,傳染病專家和外科醫生。他在這三個領域的成功可以從他在總多機構獲得的榮譽體現出來,袁教授是香港醫學科學院的病理學家,外科專家,皇家內科醫學院榮授院士(愛丁堡,倫敦),英國格拉斯哥皇家醫學院外科榮授院士和美國醫學院士;他在2006-2007年間獲得裘氏資深研究員獎並在2007年被選為中國工程院士,他在2002年在香港評為太平紳士並在2004年獲得香港特別行政區頒發的銀紫荆獎章。

因為他在新發傳染病的專長和貢獻,袁教授在2000年被任命為香港大學巴斯德研究所所長以促進香港大學和法國巴斯德研究所之間的合作。他的研究特點是針對對各種病床上的各種疑難雜症尋找治療方法,然後把臨床樣品帶到實驗鑒定新型的致病病原體,許多動物源性的病源就是這樣發現的,利用實驗室的研究發現和他的經驗以及領導才能協調醫生,微生物學家和流行病學家,他曾多次幫助政府控制疫情在社區,醫院或動物中的爆發。

袁教授是廣為人知的傳染病專家,他的專長在控制2003年的SARS全球爆發中得到了印證。 他在發現SARS感染病源體,即SARS 冠狀病毒,的過程中起到了至關重要的作用,病毒的鑒定是疫情最後得到有效控制的關鍵。多年來,他帶領他的團隊發現倆超過50種新病原體,包括了人類冠狀病毒HKU1,蝙蝠類似SARS冠狀病毒,蝙蝠冠狀病毒HKU2-24 和很多細菌,真菌以及寄生蟲,這些病原體都以香港或中國命名。他在1998年首先在Lancet(柳葉刀) 醫學期刊發表了關於禽流感H5N1實驗室診斷的論文,這篇論文已經倍引用超過500次,為表彰他在傳染病領域的貢獻,香港大學在2005年聘任他為霍英東傳染病學教授,同樣在2005年,為突顯港大在該領域的成就和貢獻,中國科學技術部授予香港大學新發傳染病國家重點實驗室,這是中國大陸地區以外成立的第一個國家重點實驗室,袁教授為首任實驗室主任至今。

袁教授的研究領域集中在新發傳染病的新型病原體,他已經發表了超過700篇論文,他的論文已經被引用超過25,000次,根據是世界ISI科學指數,袁教授屬於世界被引用最多的1%科學家之一,論文發表在包括Lancet,New England Journal of Medicine, Journal of Virology and PNAS 等重要國際期刊。

 

袁國勇教授於香港大學的網站

2021年1月

 

Back

 

回到最上