Our Members

Prof Vivian W.W. YAM

Elected as ASHK Founding Member in 2015

 

BSc (Hons), PhD (HKU); CSci; CChem; FRSC; Academician, The Chinese Academy of Sciences; Foreign Associate, US National Academy of Sciences; Foreign Member, Academia Europaea; Fellow, The World Academy of Sciences for the Advancement of Science in Developing Countries; Founding Member,
The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences

Brief Introduction

Philip Wong Wilson Wong Professor in Chemistry and Energy

Chair Professor of Chemistry

Prof Vivian W.W. Yam obtained both her BSc with First Class Honours and PhD from The University of Hong Kong. After two years on the faculty at the City Polytechnic of Hong Kong (now City University of Hong Kong), she moved to The University of Hong Kong in 1990, rising through the academic ranks of Senior Lecturer (1995), Professor (1997) and Chair Professor (1999). She was Head of Chemistry for 6 years from 2000 to 2005, and became the Philip Wong Wilson Wong Professor in Chemistry and Energy in 2009 at The University of Hong Kong. She was elected to Member of The Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2001 at the age of 38 as the youngest member of the Academy, Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Sciences in 2012, Fellow of The World Academy of Sciences for the Advancement of Science in Developing Countries (TWAS) in 2006, and very recently Foreign Member of Academia Europaea (2015). She was the Laureate of the 2011 L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Award and recipient of the 2005/06 Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Centenary Medal, 2015 RSC Ludwig Mond Award, 2005 State Natural Science Award, 2006 Japanese Photochemistry Association Eikohsha Award, 2014 Chinese Chemical Society-China Petroleum & Chemical Corporation (Sinopec) Chemistry Contribution Prize, Docteur Honoris Causa (Université de Rennes 1, 2013), 2013 Seaborg Lectureship (UC Berkeley), 2015/16 Julia S. and Edward C. Lee Memorial Lectureship (Lee Lectureship) (University of Chicago), 2011 Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation Prize for Scientific and Technological Progress, 2007 Hong Kong Fulbright Distinguished Scholar, 2000-01 Croucher Foundation Senior Research Fellowship, 2002 Ten Outstanding Young Persons of Hong Kong and 2008 Hong Kong Outstanding Women Professionals and Entrepreneurs Award.  In 2020, Prof Yam took up the role as the Chief Editor for Chemistry for a new premier international journal Natural Sciences.

 

Prof Yam serves as the Associate Editor of the SCI journal, Inorganic Chemistry, published by the American Chemical Society. She also serves on the International Editorial Advisory Board of major SCI journals, such as Accounts of Chemical Research, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Angewandte Chemie, Chemical Science, ACS Nano, Chemistry of Materials and Editorial Board of Coordination Chemistry Reviews, Journal of the Photochemistry and Photobiology C: Photochemistry Reviews and many others. Professor Yam’s major research interests are in the areas of inorganic and organometallic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, photochemistry and solar energy research.

 

Website of Prof Vivian Yam at The University of Hong Kong

August 2021

Back

 

Back to top

我們的院士

任詠華教授

2015年當選為香港科學院創院院士

BSc (Hons),PhD (HKU);CSci;CChem;FRSC;中國科學院院士;美國科學院外籍院士;歐洲人文和自然科學院外籍院士;
世界科學院院士;香港科學院創院院士

簡介

黃乾亨黃乾利基金教授 (化學與能源)

香港大學化學系講座教授

任詠華教授擁有香港大學學士 (1級榮譽) 和博士學位。她曾任教於香港城市理工學院 (今城市大學),之後於1990年加盟香港大學,1995年升任高級講師,1997年教授,1999年講座教授,曾於00至05年任港大化學系系主任,現為黃乾亨黃乾利基金教授 (化學與能源)。任教授在2001年以38歲之齡當選最年輕的中國科學院院士,2012年獲選美國科學院外籍院士,2006年當選世界科學院 (前稱發展中世界科學院) 院士,及最近獲選為歐洲人文和自然科學院外籍院士 (2015年)。其他獎項包括歐萊雅-聯合國教科文組織“世界傑出女科學家成就獎”(2011年)、英國皇家化學學會百周年講座獎 (2005/06年)、英國皇家化學學會路德維希•蒙德獎(Ludwig Mond Award)(2015年) 、國家自然科學獎2等獎 (2005年)、日本光化學協會亞洲和大洋洲區光化學家獎 (2006年)、中國化學會-中國石油化工股份有限公司化學貢獻獎 (2015年)、法國雷恩第1大學名譽博士學位 (2013年)、美國加州大學柏克萊分校西柏格講座學者 (2013年)、美國芝加哥大學Julia S. and Edward C. Lee Memorial Lectureship (Lee Lectureship) (2015/16年)、何梁何利基金科學與技術進步獎 (2011年)、香港富布林特傑出學人獎 (2007年)、裘槎基金會裘槎優秀科研者 (2000/01年)、香港10大傑出青年 (2002年)及香港傑出專業女性大獎 (2008年)。於2020年,任教授出任國際領先學術期刊 Natural Sciences 的化學領域主編。


任教授目前擔任美國化學會期刊《無機化學》(Inorganic Chemistry) 的副主編,同時也獲邀為多份國際化學期刊任諮詢編委,如Accounts of Chemical Research, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Angewandte Chemie, Chemical Science, ACS Nano, Chemistry of Materials等;並為Coordination Chemistry Reviews, Journal of the Photochemistry and Photobiology C: Photochemistry Reviews等化學期刊任編委。任教授主要從事無機和有機金屬化學、超分子化學、光化學和太陽能的基礎研究工作。

 

任詠華教授於香港大學的網站

2021年8月

Back

 

回到最上