Our Members

Professor Nancy Y IP

Elected as ASHK Founding Member in 2015

 

BSc (Simmon); PhD (Harvard); MH; JP; Academician, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Foreign Associate, US National Academy of Sciences; Fellow, Academy of Sciences for the Developing World; Founding Member, The Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong

Brief Introduction

Vice-President for Research and Deveopment

The Morningside Professor of Life Science

Director, State Key Laboratory of Molecular Neuroscience

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Nancy Ip is currently the Vice-President for Research and Development, Morningside Professor of Life Science, and Director of the State Key Laboratory of Molecular Neuroscience at The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST). She received her PhD degree in Pharmacology from Harvard Medical School, after which she held the position of Senior Staff Scientist at Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc. in New York. Since joining HKUST, she has served as Dean of Science, Director of the Biotechnology Research Institute, and Head of the Department of Biochemistry.

 

Professor Ip’s major research interests are in neural development and function as well as drug discovery for neurodegenerative diseases including Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases. She is well-known for her seminal discoveries in the biology of neurotrophic factors, which are proteins that promote the survival, development, and maintenance of neurons in the nervous   system. She has also made important contributions towards understanding the molecular mechanisms underlying brain development and synaptic plasticity, and their dysregulation in neurological disorders. Using this knowledge, her research team aims to elucidate the pathophysiological mechanisms underlying neurodevelopmental disorders and neurodegenerative diseases, and identify drug leads for these brain disorders from Chinese medicine. Furthermore, she plays a significant role in the development of biotechnology in Hong Kong, and has launched prominent collaborations with major biopharmaceutical companies, thus placing HKUST on the map for cutting-edge R&D in molecular neuroscience.

 

As a highly accomplished researcher, Professor Ip has published over 250 scientific papers with 17,690 SCI citations, and holds 41 patents. She has received numerous awards and honors including the National Natural Science Awards (China’s highest honor in the natural sciences), the L’OREAL-UNESCO for Women in Science Award (making her the first honoree in the life sciences from China), and the “Chevalier de l'Ordre National du Mérite” (National Order of Merit) by the French Government. She is also the senior editor of the Journal of Neuroscience, and an elected Councillor for two leading global organizations in the fields of neuroscience and pharmacology: the Society for Neuroscience and the CINP (Collegium Internationale Neuro-Psychopharmacologicum). Furthermore, she is a member of the Global Agenda Council on Brain Research of the World Economic Forum.

 

Along with her research in neuroscience, Professor Ip plays a key role in promoting science and technology in Hong Kong. She is currently member of the Steering Committee of the Innovation and Technology Advisory Body to the Hong Kong SAR Government, the Research Council of the Food and Health Bureau, the Committee of the Research and Development of Chinese Medicine, the Steering Committee of the Hong Kong Scholarship for Excellence Scheme, the Council of the Sir Edward Youde Memorial Fund, and the Advisory Panel of the Science Museum. Additionally, she has served on the Board of Directors of the Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation, the Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute, and the Research Grants Council.

 

Back

 

Back to top

我們的院士

葉玉如教授

2015年當選為香港科學院創院院士

理學士 (Simmons);博士 (哈佛);榮譽勳章;太平紳士;中國科學院院士;美國科學院外藉院士;發展中世界科學院院士;香港科學院創院院士

簡介

副校長(研發展

晨興生命科學教授

分子神經科學國家重點實驗室主任

香港科技大學

葉玉如教授現任香港科技大學副校長(研發展、晨興生命科學教授及分子神經科學國家重點實验室主任。她畢業於美國波士頓Simmons學院獲化學和生物學雙學士學位,並獲美國哈佛大學醫學院藥理學博士學位,隨後任職於Regeneron等國際著名生物醫藥公司,領導神經生物學的基礎研究及藥物研發方面的工作。1993年起受聘於香港科技大學,先後出任理學院院長、生物技術研究所所長和生物化學系系主任。

 

葉教授的研究主要集中於神經系統的發育和功能,以及阿爾茨海默氏症、帕金遜症等神經退行性疾病的藥物研發。她在研究促進和維持神經細胞存活與發育的神經營養因數方面,有卓越成就,國際聞名。葉教授在探索腦部發育和突觸可塑性的分子機制、以及相關的神經系統功能失調等領域,也作出了重要貢獻。她的研究團隊運用這方面的知識,努力破解神經發育疾病和神經退行性疾病的病理生理學機制,並從中藥尋找可以治療這些腦疾病的藥物。此外,葉教授亦積極推動香港生物科技的發展,與多間主要生物製藥公司開展了重大合作研究,奠定了科大在分子神經科學前沿領域的地位。

 

葉教授的研究成果獲得了科學界的廣泛認同,在頂尖國際學術期刊發表了超過250篇論文和綜述,文獻被引用17,690次,擁有41項國際科技發明專利權。葉教授屢獲殊榮,2001年被選為中國科學院院士,是中國科學家的最高學術榮耀;2004年當選為發展中國家科學院院士;2005年更獲美國國家科學院選為外籍院士,這也是美國科學界的最高榮譽之一;並先後獲頒多個國內外重要學術重要獎項,當中包括歐萊雅聯合國教科文組織推舉為世界傑出女科學家,成為生命科學領域首位得獎的中國人;兩度獲頒國家自然科學獎,此乃國家自然科學研究領域的最高獎項;獲法國政府頒授「國家榮譽騎士勳章」,表彰她的科學成就以及於推動中、法、港在科研與高等教育方面合作的貢獻。她兼任多種國際知名科學期刊的主編或編委,包括Journal of Neuroscience的資深編輯;同時也擔任國際神經精神藥理學協會及美國神經科學學會的理事會成員、並被獲邀成為世界經濟論壇全球議程腦研究理事會的成員。

 

在從事科學研究之餘,葉教授還積極參與推動香港科技發展,現任香港特區政府創新及科技諮詢委員會、食物及衛生局諮詢委員會、中藥研究及發展委員會、香港卓越獎學金計劃督導委員會、尤德爵士紀念基金理事會、香港科學博物館諮詢委員會等成員。曾先後出任多項公職,包括香港科技園公司董事局成員、創新及科技基金評審委員、香港應用科技研究院有限公司董事局、研究資助局等。

 

葉玉如教授於香港科技大學的網站

2021年8月

Back

 

回到最上