Our Members

Prof Albert S C CHAN

Elected as ASHK Founding Member in 2015

 

Bachelor’s degree, International Christian University, Japan; MSc and PhD degrees, the University of Chicago; Research Chemist, Research Specialist, Senior Research Specialist,  the Monsanto Corporate Research Laboratories; Chair Professor and Head of the Department of Applied Biology and Chemical Technology, Dean of the Faculty of Applied Science and Textiles, and Vice President (Research Development), the Hong Kong Polytechnic University;  4th President and Vice-Chancellor of Hong Kong Baptist University; Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences; Founding Member of The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences

Brief Introduction

Professor and Chairman of the Academic Committee at Sun Yat-sen University, Guangzhou 

Emeritus President and Vice-Chancellor, Hong Kong Baptist University

Prof Albert Sun-Chi Chan is a world-renowned organic chemist, Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Emeritus President and Vice-Chancellor of Hong Kong Baptist University.

Prof Chan received his bachelor’s degree from International Christian University in Japan in 1975 and his MSc and PhD degrees from the University of Chicago respectively in 1976 and 1979. Upon graduation from Chicago, he started an industrial career at the Monsanto Corporate Research Laboratories where he had worked for 13 years, rising through the ranks of Senior Research Chemist, Research Specialist, Senior Research Specialist and finally Monsanto Fellow. In 1992-1993 he taught at National Taiwan University as a Visiting Expert. Since joining the Hong Kong Polytechnic University in 1994, Professor Chan had served as Chair Professor and Head of the Department of Applied Biology and Chemical Technology, Dean of the Faculty of Applied Science and Textiles, and Vice President (Research Development).  He was the 4th President and Vice-Chancellor of Hong Kong Baptist University in 2010-2015.  Currently he is the Professor and Chairman of the Academic Committee at Sun Yat-sen University in Guangzhou.

Prof Chan’s research areas include the application of chiral catalysts in asymmetric syntheses and their industrial applications, development of pharmaceutical products and related processes, pharmaceutical and nutritional products based on Chinese medicines, new organic chemical process and their industrial applications, research and industrial applications of green sciences,  novel material discovery and development, etc.

Elected as Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2001, Professor Chan has received numerous prestigious awards including the National Natural Science Award of China (second class), Japan Society of Synthetic Chemistry Lectureship Award, the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Invitation Fellowship, and Justice of the Peace, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government.

Prof Chan has enjoyed a very distinguished academic career, with seven books and more than 500 SCI journal papers published, as well as more than 16,000 citations on publications.  In addition, he has 32 US patents and 44 Chinese patents granted, two series of technologies transferred to major global Corporations for commercial application, one permit granted for the human clinical trial of new drug, and commercialization of a major invention (This is a practical and commercially attractive technology for converting the ozone-depleting chemical carbon tetrachloride to commercially useful chloroform.  The technology, which is already successfully commercialized in China, is important in keeping the chloroform industry alive and keeping the world a safer place to live in.). 

Since 1994, he has secured a total of 16 General Research Fund Grants from the Research Grants Council (RGC) of Hong Kong, and also a collaborative Areas of Excellence project on Molecular Technology for Drug Discovery and Synthesis which received funding of HK$64 million from the UGC.

Prof Chan also served as Founding Director, Shenzhen State Key Laboratory (Nurturing Platform) of Chinese Medicine and Molecular Pharmacology; Founding Director of Shenzhen Key Laboratory of Chinese Medicine; National Science and Technology Evaluation Expert; and was the Honorary Founding Dean of the School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Sun Yat-sen University, and former Chairman of the Hong Kong Chemical Society. 

 

Website of Prof Albert Sun-Chi Chan at Sun Yat-sen University, Guangzhou

October 2020

 

Back

 

Back to top

我們的院士

陳新滋教授

2015年當選為香港科學院創院院士
 

日本東京國際基督教大學學士學位;美國芝加哥大學頒授碩士和博士學位;美國孟山都公司高級化學硏究師、孟山都院士;
香港理工大學應用生物及化學科技學系講座教授兼系主任,理大科學及紡織學院院長和副校長(科研發展);
第四屆香港浸會大學校長;中國科學院院士;香港科學院創院院士

簡介

廣州中山大學教授兼學術委員會主任

香港浸會大學榮休校長​

陳新滋教授是世界著名的有機化學家,中國科學院院士,香港浸會大學榮休校長。

陳新滋教授1975年在日本東京國際基督教大學取得學士學位,並於1975年及79年先後獲美國芝加哥大學頒授碩士和博士學位。他於1979年至92年在美國孟山都公司任職高級化學硏究師,並逐步晉升至孟山都院士。1992年至93年他到臺灣大學擔任客座專家,並於1994年獲香港理工大學聘任為應用生物及化學科技學系講座教授兼系主任,其後先後擔任理大應用科學及紡織學院院長和副校長(科研發展)職位。陳教授于2010至15年為香港浸會大學校長。現任廣州中山大學教授兼學術委員會主任。

陳教授的研究範疇包括手性催化劑在不對稱合成及其工業上的應用、手性醫藥中間體合成和相關工藝的硏究和應用、中藥及中藥保健品的研究與發展、新穎抗癌藥物的研究與發展、創新的有機化學反應及其工業應用、綠色科學的研究及其工業應用、新材料的發現和發展等。

陳教授多年的研究成果,令他著有7部有關化學的專著,發表超過500篇研究論文,獲得引用超過16000次。他還擁有32項美國專利和44項中國專利,2個系列的科學技術成功轉移給全球大企業,1個新藥進入臨床試驗階段,1個主要發明商業化 (即將1個破壞臭氧層的化合物4氯化碳轉化成工業上有用的氯仿,這個技術已在中國成功的商業化,對氯仿工業的持續發展和保護地球作出了積極的貢獻)。

這些成果讓陳教授得到國際科學界的高度認同,因而獲得包括中國國家自然科學獎(2等)、日本有機合成化學會「Lectureship Award」和日本科學振興會邀請學人獎等國家及國際獎項。陳教授於2001年榮膺中國科學院院士,2012年香港特別行政區政府委任他為太平紳士。

自1994年起,陳教授共獲得16項香港特區政府研究資助局的優配研究金項目,以及1項香港特區政府大學教育資助委員會資助額達港幣6400萬元的分子科技與藥物開發及合成的卓越領域合作研究計畫。

陳教授是深圳市中藥藥學與藥理學國家重點實驗室培育基地創辦主任、深圳市中藥藥學重點實驗室創辦主任、國家科學技術評審專家,並曾任中山大學藥學院榮譽創院院長、前香港特區化學會會長。
 

陳新滋教授於廣州中山大學的網站

2021年8月

Back

 

回到最上