Our Members

Nobel Prize Laureate Prof Chen-Ning YANG

ASHK Honorary Member awarded in 2015

PhD (Univesrity of Chicago); Nobel Laureute in Physics

Brief Introduction

Distinguished Professor-at-Large 

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Prof Chen-Ning Yang has his chief interest in two fields in physics, including statistical mechanics and symmetry principles.  His work influenced significantly the development of particle physics.

To recognise his contribution, Prof Yang has received many awards.  In addition to sharing the 1957 Nobel Prize in Physics, he was awarded the Rumford Prize (1980), the U.S. National Medal of Science (1986), Oskar Klein Memorial Lecture and Medal (1988), Benjamin Franklin Medal (1993), Bower Award (1994), Albert Einstein Medal (1995), Lars Onsager Prize (1999) and the King Faisal International Prize (2001).

Prof Yang was awarded Honorary Member of ASHK in 2015.        


Website of Prof Chen-Ning Yang at The Chinese University of Hong Kong

December 2021




Back to top