Hong Kong Academy of Sciences Elects Four New Members



The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences (ASHK) held its eighth annual general meeting today (28 November) and elected four new Members, namely Professor LUK Kam Biu (陸錦標), Professor ZHAO Guo Chun (趙國春), Professor TENG Jin Guang (滕錦光) and Professor YU Jun (于君). Professor Dennis Yuk Ming LO, President of ASHK, congratulated the four newly elected Members who are highly renowned experts in their respective fields of science. Professor LO said he hoped that ASHK could combine the strengths and connections of its Members to contribute to the country and society by further promoting Hong Kong’s scientific achievements at various levels as well as the popularisation of general science education.


Professor LUK Kam Biu is an internationally renowned particle physicist. He co-led the Daya Bay Reactor Neutrino Experiment, which contributed to the discovery of a new type of neutrino oscillation, opening the door for new physics beyond the Standard Model of particle physics and holding the key to understanding the matter-antimatter asymmetry in the universe. Professor LUK was awarded the 2014 W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics and the 2019 Future Science Prize in Physical Sciences.


Professor ZHAO Guo Chun is an internationally renowned geologist whose main research areas are metamorphic petrology, Precambrian geology and supercontinents. He has published more than 320 scientific papers and received numerous honours and awards, including the 2018 World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) Award, and was elected as a fellow of TWAS for the Advancement of Science in Developing Countries in 2021.


Professor TENG Jin Guang is an accomplished and distinguished scholar in the field of structural engineering. His main research areas include the structural application of fibre-reinforced polymer composites in construction and steel structures. Professor TENG has authored books and more than 200 SCI journal papers, and his remarkable achievements have been recognised by top researchers around the world.


Professor YU Jun specialises in gastrointestinal oncology. She has made significant contributions over the years in the areas of gastrointestinal cancers related to the genomic and epigenomic molecular mechanisms, gut microbiota and fatty liver disease, as well as basic and translational research in cancer biomarkers and cancer therapy. Professor YU is also the first Asian to receive the American Gastroenterology Association Council Oncology Research Mentor Award.

Back to top