Projects and Events

“Science, Technology and Mathematics Education in the development of the Innovation and Technology Ecosystem of Hong Kong”

5 Jan 2017

Advancement of education and promoting the development of science and technology in Hong Kong are objectives of The Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong.  To achieve these objectives, we have conducted a study on Science, Technology and Mathematics Education since May 2016 and issued a report for the reference and discussion of the public.  Based on the findings, we have put forward 5 recommendations for fine tuning the existing education system to allow it to better serve the future development of Hong Kong.

The Executive Summary is given below.  The full report, can also be downloaded from the link provided below.

 

Executive Summary

As innovation and technology are being increasingly recognised as the locomotive to drive sustainable development and solve complex global challenges, STEM[1] education has emerged in the top national agenda of many governments in recent years.

Compared to other countries and regions, Hong Kong has top achievement and positive student attitudes towards STEM, as measured by global assessment tests of PISA[2] and TIMSS[3] of students at or below age 15. Such attainments, however, are not being translated into high enrolment in STEM-related subjects at the senior secondary education level. This disconnect is manifested in three main ways:

  1. STEM education not being extended to all students. Despite the abolition of tracking and the transition into a broad-based education system, almost half of the new senior secondary students in Hong Kong do not take any Science or Technology subject, whereas in the US, Europe and many Asian countries, Science is compulsory and cross-Arts-Science study is part and parcel of many broad-based education systems.

 

  1. Poor enrolment in advanced Mathematics studies. Student enrolment in advanced Mathematics dropped from 23% in 2012 to 14% in 2016, relative to 25% of students taking Additional Mathematics[4] before the implementation of the current Diploma for Secondary Education in Hong Kong (HKDSE). It is alarming that Hong Kong students’ participation rate in advanced Mathematics is much lower than that in Singapore and New Zealand (40%) and far behind those in Japan, Korea and Taiwan (57-80%).

 

  1. Broad-based scientific training on decline. Innovation and scientific research, as well as the ability to solve complex problems nowadays require multidisciplinary training and possession of so-called “T-shaped” knowledge. However, over two-thirds of HKDSE students took only two Electives, comparing poorly to an average of four subjects in addition to Languages and Mathematics previously (under the HKCEE[5] system). The narrowed knowledge base seriously weakens the foundation required for articulation into post-secondary education.

 

The lack of a strong manufacturing base and the weak R&D spending by government and corporate bodies are generally believed to have dampened students’ enthusiasm towards STEM in Hong Kong. Consequently, many high-performing students opt to study medicine, business or law at universities, while Faculties of Science and Engineering have relatively more difficulty in attracting students with high academic achievements. This self-perpetuating cycle further weakens the region’s STEM-readiness to “re-industrialise”.

University admission policies also play a pivotal role in shaping student behaviour. Currently, strong emphasis is being placed on the examination results of the four Core Subjects[6]. Thus, the examination-oriented culture among students in Hong Kong compounds with the limited supply of government-funded university places, poor prospects in studying science and engineering, and unfavourable social attitude towards diploma programmes and vocational education as alternative pathways are all contributing factors, leading to narrowing of studies and general risk-aversion among students and, ultimately, impeding their holistic development.

A survey conducted by ASHK on senior secondary school principals finds that STEM enrolment is stymied by two critical factors, including:

  1. Over-emphasis on Core Subjects. While the Core Subjects in HKDSE were originally designed to provide students with balanced knowledge required for their competencies in their further development, over 55% of the 154 respondents in our survey of secondary school principals (representing 31% of all secondary schools in Hong Kong) reported that they spend over 60% of their normal teaching hours on the four Core Subjects, in which STEM content is relatively low. Moreover, among the 89% of respondents offering after-school-hour classes, 69% named the Core Subjects among the top-three subjects taught after school. This peculiar behaviour is clearly being driven by the local university admission policies.

 

  1. Poor recognition of advanced Mathematics. Under the HKDSE, advanced Mathematics under two extended modules, namely M1 and M2, are not offered as full subjects but as “half-courses” to “extend” students’ Mathematics education beyond what is offered in Mathematics under the Core Subjects. Given the tight teaching schedule on Core Subjects, the two extended modules M1 and M2 are often relegated to after-school-hour classes. In addition, not all universities recognise M1/M2 as full Electives or make specific demands on them as admission requirements. These could hardly be incentives for students with high mental and logical capacities to opt for advanced Mathematics given the strenuous efforts required.

 

Recommendations:

Hong Kong needs to build up its innovative capacity and to raise the overall STEM literacy in order to diversify into a knowledge-based economy. As information and technological changes gather pace, the amount of knowledge to be acquired by our next generation is becoming increasingly formidable. While education systems need to respond to the above changes, our assessments and university admission systems also need to adapt and evolve to suit the needs of the new world. As STEM education is an integral component of the ecosystem of innovation and technology, as well as the overall literacy of our knowledge economy, all stakeholders including businesses, governments, non-governmental agencies, students and parents must develop an open mind to embrace new perspectives when designing what is best for our future generations.

 

To enhance the STEM literacy and raise the science and technology expertise in Hong Kong, we recommend the following:

 

1. Trim the Core Subject requirement to achieve a balance between Science and Non-Science education. Understanding the physical world and how Science works is essential for one to work and live in the 21st Century, STEM education should constitute an important part of a child’s education. The Core Subjects of the HKDSE curriculum, as designed, offer limited STEM content. To encourage students to broaden their knowledge horizon and to strike a balance between Science and Non-Science subjects in our senior secondary education, the emphasis on Core Subjects needs to be trimmed to make room for more Elective subjects, especially for Science-related subjects.

 

2. Introduce module flexibility to provide choice for students in choosing Science subjects. Students have wide differences in interests and aptitude in their orientation towards Science subjects. A broad-based education system needs to provide adequate flexibility to cater for students’ learning diversity. Offering Basic and Advanced level syllabuses will enable students to develop breadth and depth, or the so-called T-shaped knowledge that is needed for the 21st Century, while encouraging students to take cross-Arts-Science studies. We recommend an introduction of module flexibility by phase, starting with the Core Subjects, and gradually extend it to the major Elective subjects over time. Module flexibility is best supplemented with flexibility in the assessment system.

 

3. Give proper recognition to advanced Mathematics to stimulate enrolment. Improved mathematical skills is essential in an increasingly technology-and-data-centric world beyond the traditional boundary of science and engineering. To extend the appeal of advanced Mathematics to a wider group of students and to encourage school provision, it is important to give proper recognition to the subject, which is currently treated as half subjects or extended modules. We recommend putting Mathematics Module 1 and Module 2 back into the Core Subjects, by creating three “alternative” Mathematics Core offerings to cater for students with different study or career pathways. An alternative option would be to place advanced Mathematics as a separate Elective. In either scheme, universities must give clear signals in their admission policies to guide students in their requirement in Mathematics.

 

4. Universities to review the “3-3-2-2” common minimum entrance requirement and individual programme admission requirements to encourage students to take more Science subjects. University admission policy has a strong impact on senior secondary schools’ curriculum. The current 3-3-2-2 minimum requirement (for the four Core Subjects: Chinese-English-Math-Liberal Studies) for the eight UGC-funded universities and the well-intended “5-best subjects” scoring method for some programmes, have resulted in a disproportionally large amount of time spent on the four Core Subjects, leaving inadequate time for Elective subjects. Universities should be given institutional autonomy in stipulating their minimum entrance requirement. We recommend that universities review their admission policies to enable students to build a strong foundation of scientific knowledge across disciplines. Most important, admission criteria should be aligned to the needs of the individual programmes.

 

5. Diploma of Secondary School Education. Although there is no ‘passing’ threshold for the HKDSE as originally designed, the introduction of 3-3-2-2 as the minimal requirement for admission to the eight UGC-subvented universities has unintentionally created a new measurement of success, which is unattainable for most school leavers. Therefore, we strongly recommend that proper recognition should be given to students who have attained adequate senior secondary education. The minimal requirement for secondary school graduation should be set with a standard to ensure students attain the necessary core skills and knowledge deemed essential to prepare them for further study or career development. In other words, secondary school certification should be decoupled from tertiary admission standards.

 

Download Report

                                                                                     

 

[1] STEM is an acronym that refers to the academic disciplines of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics collectively. In the curriculum context of Hong Kong, STEM education is promoted through Science, Technology and Mathematics Education (Curriculum Development Council of the Education Bureau of the Hong Kong SAR government, November 2015)

[2] The Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) is a triennial international survey by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). It aims to evaluate education systems worldwide by testing the skills and knowledge of 15-year-old students.

[3] Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS) is a series of international assessments by the International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement of the Mathematics and Science knowledge of students around the world.

[4] Under the Hong Kong Certificate of Education Examination (HKCEE), which was a standard school-leaving examination for students who finished five years of secondary school between 1974 and 2011.

[5] HKCEE Hong Kong Certificate of Education Examination (1974-2011).

[6] The four Core Subjects under HKDSE are Chinese Language, English Language, Mathematics and Liberal Studies

 

 

Back

Back to top

項目及活動

"科學、科技和數學教育與香港創新科技的發展"

2017年1月5日

港科院旨在推動香港科技發展及前進,港科院在2016年5月開始,就香港的科學、科技和數學教育進行研究,研究成果已寫成報告供大眾参考討論。根據研究結果,港科院提出五項建議,微調現行教育系统以配合香港未來的發展。

行政撮要如下。完整報告可用以下連結下載。

 

行政撮要

創新與科技日益備受重視,成為推動可持續發展及解決複雜環球問題的主要動力。近年,多國政府都把STEM教育[1]納入為國家優先處理的項目。

根據學生能力國際評估計劃(PISA)[2]和國際數學及科學趨勢研究(TIMSS)[3]就15歲或以下學童所作的世界性評估測試成績,香港學生在STEM領域的學習態度,積極性與成績,相對其他國家及地區,均名列前茅。然而,學生於高中報讀STEM相關學科的比率卻不理想。這斷層主要表現在以下三方面︰

  1. STEM教育普及至所有學生:雖然香港已取消文理分流教育制度,漸以基礎廣濶的教育取代,但是接近半數新高中學生沒有修讀任何科學或科技學科。相比之下,美國、歐洲,以及許多亞洲國家,均把科學列為必修科,而在其基礎廣濶的教育制度中,跨文理學科學習是根本且不可或缺的一環。

 

  1. 高等數學科的修讀率低:現行的香港中學文憑(DSE)教育實施之前,學生修讀附加數學科[4]的比率為25%;然而在新學制下,學生修讀高等數學科的比率由2012年的23%,下降至2016年的14%。香港學生修讀高等數學科的比率遠較新加坡和新西蘭為低(40%),並遠遠落後於日本、韓國和台灣(57-80%),情況令人憂慮。

 

  1. 跨學科訓練減少:現今世代,不論是創新與科研,或是解決複雜問題的技巧,均涉及跨學科訓練和縱橫合併的所謂「T」型知識基礎。過往的香港中學會考(HKCEE[5]),學生除了語文和數學之外,平均修讀另外四個學科,但現時超過三分二香港中學文憑學生只修讀兩個選修科。知識基礎收窄,嚴重削弱學生的知識根基,有礙銜接高等教育。

 

一般認為,香港缺乏強大的製造業支持,政府和企業於科研發展的投資也見薄弱,導致學生不熱衷STEM。令眾多學業成績良好的學生都傾向報考大學的醫科、商科和法律,而理學院和工程學院則較難招收高材生。這種自我持續的循環,進一步削弱本地STEM發展,阻礙再工業化。

大學收生政策也大大影響學生的選科決定。現時,大學看重學生在四大核心科目[6]的考試成績。香港學生以考試為本,加上政府資助的大學學額有限,科學和工程學科的出路不佳,而修讀文憑和職訓課程也未受社會認同為理想出路,以上種種因素皆導致學生的修學方向愈見收窄以廻避風險,最終阻礙他們的整體發展。

港科院向高中校長所作的問卷調查顯示,STEM收生困難源於兩大關鍵因素,包括︰

  1. 過分偏重核心科目香港中學文憑課程的核心科目原意在為學生培育均衡知識基礎, 配合將來全人發展,可是回覆的154位中學(代表全港31%中學)校長當中,超過55%表示學校平均花超過六成常規教學時數教授核心科目,當中含STEM元素只佔小部分。89%受訪校長表示學校提供補課,而當中69%指出,補課科目首三位包括核心科目。這種異常的教學模式,顯然是受本地大學收生政策所影響。

 

  1. 不重視高等數學香港中學文憑課程中,高等數學為延伸單元M1和M2,並非一門完整科目,而是以「半科目」形式,為學生「擴充」核心數學課程以外的數學教育。基於核心科目的教學時間緊湊,兩項延伸單元M1和M2往往只能在補課時教授。此外,並不是所有大學均視M1或M2單元為一門完整的選修科目,也沒有把兩單元列為指定入學要求。加上修讀高等數學需要投放很多時間和努力,實在難以吸引高質素學生選修。

 

 

 

建議

香港需要培育創新人才,提升本港整體STEM知識水平,發展成多元知識型經濟。資訊與科技發展日益迅速,下一代所需的知識量也與日俱增。教育制度需要因時制宜,我們的考核及大學收生制度也要配合演化,配合新世代需求。STEM教育是整個創新科技生態及整體知識型經濟的核心部分,各方持份者,包括商界、政府、非政府組織、學生與家長,均需持開放態度,運用嶄新思維,為下一代籌謀。

 

為了提升本港STEM知識水平,培育科技專才,我們建議︰

 

1. 調低核心科目的比重,平衡科學與非科學教育在21世紀,了解自然世界和科學原理,是生活和工作所不可或缺的。STEM教育理當在兒童學習成長中佔重要部分。香港中學文憑課程的核心科目缺乏STEM內容。為了鼓勵高中生擴闊知識水平,平衡科學與非科學的學習,核心科目的比重必須調低,騰出空間容納更多選修科目,特別是與科學相關的選修科。

 

2.在課程内設立可供彈性選擇的單元,給予學生更多選擇科學科的空間 : 學生對於科學的興趣和潛能差異甚大,基礎廣濶的教育制度需有足夠的靈活空間,迎合不同學生的學習需要;同時提供基礎和高階程度課程,讓學生追尋既廣泛且深入的知識,培育縱橫合併的「T」型知識基礎,切合21世紀所需,同時也能鼓勵學生修讀跨文理課程學科。我們建議按階段引入課程單元彈性,先由核心科目開始,再推廣至其他主要選修科目。課程單元彈性制度須配上靈活的評核制度,才能夠發揮最大效用。

 

3. 正式承認高等數學,引發學生選修 : 現今世界已突破傳統科學與工程的框架,愈趨科技與數據為本,高級數學技能必不可少。目前高等數學只當作半個學科或者是延伸單元。為了吸引更多學生選讀高等數學,鼓勵學校提供相關科目,必須正式承認該科目。我們建議把數學單元一、單元二重新納入核心科目,並轉化成三個新的數學核心科目以供選擇,配合學生不同的升學或就業路向。另一方案則是把高等數學設立為獨立選修科目。不論任一方案,大學都必須就收生政策訂立明確指標,指引學生選修所需的數學科目。

 

4. 大學應重新檢視3-3-2-2的統一最低入學標準,和個別課程的收生要求,以鼓勵學生選修更多科學科目 : 大學收生政策對高中教育課程有莫大影響。現時教資會資助的8所大學均設有3-3-2-2的最低入學要求(對應四大核心科目的成績︰中文—英文—數學—通識),縱使個別大學課程特意修訂「最佳5科成績」的計分方式,以減少核心科目的比重,學生依然把大部分時間集中於4科核心科目上,導致修讀選修科目時間不足。大學應享有自主空間,自行訂立最低收生要求。我們建議大學重新檢視收生政策,讓學生能夠跨越學科,建立穩固的科學基礎。更重要的是,收生要求應配合個別課程需要。

 

5. 中學教育文憑香港中學文憑試原本並無成績合格門檻,然而教資會資助的8所大學引入3-3-2-2最低入學要求,卻變相成為了新的成功指標,而這指標是多數高中畢業生無法企及的。因此,我們強烈建議設立正式中學畢業資格,授予達到足夠高中教育要求的學生。我們為高中畢業設立的最低標準,應確保學生能取得必要的技能和知識,應付未來升學或就業需要。簡而言之,中學畢業資格須與大學收生標準脫鈎。

 

 

 

 

報告下載

 

 

[1] STEM為科學、科技、工程和數學學術專科的縮略統稱。在香港的教育課程,STEM教育透過科學、科技和數學教育推行。(香港特別行政區教育局課程發展議會,2015年11月)

[2] 「學生能力國際評估計劃」是「經濟合作及發展組織」 (OECD) 三年一度進行的國際調查,旨在透過測試15歲學童的知識、技能,評估各國的教育制度成效。

[3] 「國際數學及科學趨勢研究」是由「國際教育成績評估協會」進行的一連串國際測試,評估全球學童的數學、科學知識。

[4]當時實行香港中學會考 (HKCEE),是1974-2011年間5年中學教育的畢業試。

[5]香港中學會考,1974-2011年推行。

[6]香港中學文憑教育四大核心科目為:中國語文、英國語文、數學和通識教育。

 

 

 

回上頁

回到最上