Our Members

Prof Way KUO

Elected as ASHK Founding Member in 2015

Member, US National Academy of Engineering; Member, Academia Sinica in Taiwan, Foreign Member, Chinese Academy of Engineering,  

Foreign Member, Russian Academy of Engineering; Founding Member, The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences

Brief Introduction

President
University 
Distinguished Professor
City University of Hong Kong

Before joining City University of Hong Kong, Prof Kuo was on the senior management team at Oak Ridge National Laboratory and Dean of Engineering at the University of Tennessee. Previously at Texas A&M University, he was the holder of Wisenbaker Chair of Engineering in Innovation. He also served as the Head of the Department of Industrial Engineering, managing both the Industrial and Biomedical Engineering programmes. He has previously held appointments at Bell Laboratories and Iowa State University.

Prof Kuo is renowned for his work in design for reliability of electronics systems and nuclear energy. He is a pioneer in reliability modeling of electronics at the infant mortality stage and several of his publications have become classics in systems reliability. Specifically, his research has been adopted for defining and setting up various industrial standards. Anyone who uses such complex electronic products will notice Professor Kuo's footprint.
 

An author and co-author of nine books on reliability, quality and education, he serves as Chairman of Gnedenko e-Forum, an international group on reliability. He is also known for promoting higher education with an emphasis on relevance to societal needs and problem-oriented research.

He received PhD in engineering in 1980 from Kansas State University, and BS in nuclear engineering in 1972 from National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan. He has been granted Dr. Phil. Honoris Causa in 2012 from the State Department of China, through Beijing Institute of Technology.

His popular science book Critical Reflections on Nuclear and Renewable Energy has created an impact since its publication in 2013 by Commonwealth Publishing Group in Taiwan. The book has been translated into English, Japanese, French and Russian and were published in Massachusetts, Tokyo, Paris, and Moscow, respectively. It has also been published in Hong Kong and Beijing in both traditional and simplified Chinese under different titles. 

 

Website of Prof Way Kuo at City University of Hong Kong 

December 2021

Back

 

Back to top

我們的院士

郭位教授

2015年當選為香港科學​院創院院士

美國國家工程院院士;台灣中央研究院院士;中國工程院外籍院士;俄羅斯工程院外籍院士

香港科學院創院院士

簡介

香港城市大學校長及大學傑出教授

加入城大前,郭教授為田納西大學榮譽講座及工學院院長,並為美國橡樹嶺國家實驗室高級管理團隊成員。之前,他任教愛荷華州立大學及德州農工大學,擔任  Wisenbaker 創新講座,並曾接掌工業工程系主任之職務,負責管理工業與生物醫學工程。在他任內,該學系獲「美國國家研究委員會」及《美國新聞及世界報導》評為全美最佳之一。開始學術生涯前,郭教授曾在貝爾實驗室擔任電子可靠度專家。

 

郭教授在系統與核能可靠度的研究享有盛名。他是電子早衰期可靠度研究的先行者,多部著作已成為系統可靠度專業的經典著作,為電子産品可靠度的測試設下了國際標準及理論基礎;凡是使用這些複雜的電子產品的人,都可見到郭教授的研究足跡。此外,他以社會需要及問題為本的研究推動大學教育,廣受尊崇。

 

郭教授是九部可靠度、質量、教育研究專著的作者及合著者。目前,他擔任  Gnedenko e-Forum 可靠度的主席。他於1980年取得美國堪薩斯州立大學工程博士,1972年取得台灣清華大學核子工程學士,並於2012年獲頒中華人民共和國國務院(北理工)榮譽博士學位。

 

郭位所寫的科普書《核電關鍵報告》(香港版《七彩能源一鑑開》,北大簡體字版《核電 霧霾 你》),自從2013年由台北天下文化出版後,引起高度迴響,被翻譯為多國文字,在美國麻州、日本東京、法國巴黎、俄羅斯莫斯科分別發行英、日、法、俄文版。

 

郭位教授於香港城市大學的網站

2020年10月

 

Back

 

回到最上