Our Members

Prof Paul C W CHU

Elected as ASHK Founding Member in 2015

 

B.S. (NCKU); M.S. (Fordham); Ph.D. (UCSD); Member: U.S. National Academy of Sciences, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, The Chinese Academy of Sciences (Beijing), Academia Sinica (Taipei), Royal Society for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufactures, and Commerce, Russian Academy of Engineering, The World Academy of Sciences, The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas; Fellow: National Academy of Inventors, Hong Kong Institution of Science, Texas Academy of Sciences; Founding Member: The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences

Brief Introduction

Professor of Physics

T. L. L. Temple Chair of Science

Founding Director and Chief Scientist, Texas Center for Superconductivity

University of Houston

Prof Paul C W Chu is currently Professor of Physics, T. L. L. Temple Chair of Science, and Founding Director and Chief Scientist of the Texas Center for Superconductivity at the University of Houston (TCSUH); Honorary Chancellor of the Taiwan Comprehensive University System; and President Emeritus and University Professor Emeritus of The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST). He was born in Hunan, China, and received the B.S. degree from Cheng-Kung University in Taiwan, the M.S. degree from Fordham University, Bronx NY, and the Ph.D. degree at the University of California at San Diego, all in Physics.

After doing industrial research at Bell Laboratories at Murray Hill, New Jersey, Prof Chu held an academic appointment at Cleveland State University. He assumed his appointment at the University of Houston in 1979. He has established several research centers, including the Space Vacuum Epitaxy Center (in partnership with NASA) and TCSUH. He served as the first Director of TCSUH between 1987 and 2001 and President of HKUST between 2001 and 2009. He had also served as consultant and visiting staff member at Bell Labs, Los Alamos National Lab, the Marshall Space Flight Center, Argonne National Lab, and DuPont at various times.

He has been working on Superconductivity, Magnetism, and Dielectrics. In January 1987, Prof Chu and his colleagues achieved stable superconductivity at 93 K (-180 °C), above the critical temperature of liquid nitrogen (-196 °C). They continue to discover new compounds with high transition temperatures and obtained stable superconductivity at a new record high temperature of 164 K (-109 °C) in another compound when compressed in 1993. Presently, he is actively engaged in the basic and applied research of high temperature superconductivity. His work has resulted in the publication of more than 660 papers in refereed journals.

He has received honorary doctorates from Northwestern University, Fordham University, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Florida International University, the State University of New York at Farmingdale, Hong Kong Baptist University, Providence University, University of Macau, Loughborough University, and Whittier College. In 1990 he was selected the Best Researcher in the U.S. by US News and World Report and in 2000 he was named one of the 20th Century’s 100 Most Influential People in Gas and Electricity in Century of Power (Hart Energy Markets).

He has received numerous awards, including the National Medal of Science, the International Prize for New Materials, the Comstock Award, Texas Instruments’ Founders’ Prize, the Leroy Randal Grumman Medal, the World Cultural Council Medal of Scientific Merit, the New York Academy of Sciences’ Physical and Mathematical Science Award, the Bernd Matthias Prize, the St. Martin de Porres Award, the Esther Farfel Award, the John Fritz Medal, the Ettore Majorana - Erice - Science for Peace Prize, and the IEEE Council on Superconductivity Max Swerdlow Award for Sustained Service to the Applied Superconductivity Community.

He serves on the editorial boards of various professional journals and is a member of the board of directors of the Coalition for the Commercial Application of Superconductors. He has served on numerous committees in the U.S., China, Taiwan, and elsewhere, including the President’s Committee on the National Medal of Science (2007-2009); the National Research Council’s Committee on Research Universities (2010-2011) and Committee on Globalization of Science and Technology: Opportunities and Challenges for the Department of Defense (2013-2014); and the Intelligence Science and Technology Experts Group of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (2015-2019). 

 

Website of Prof Paul Chu at University of Houston

January 2021

Back

 

Back to top

我們的院士

朱經武教授

2015年當選為香港科學院創院院士

 

理學學士 (國立成功大学); 碩士(Fordham); 博士 (UCSD); 美國科學院院士、美國人文及科學學院院士、中國科學院院士、臺灣中央研究院院士、英國皇家(藝術/產業/商業)學院院士、俄羅斯工程學院院士、发展中科學院院士及德克薩斯醫學、工程與科學學院院士; 美國發明家科學院會士、香港科學會會會士、及德克薩斯科學院會士、港科院創院院士

簡介

天普科學講座教授、 物理學系教授

德州超導中心創始主任及首席科學家

休斯頓大學

朱經武教授目前是天普科學講座教授、 物理學系教授, 美國休士頓大學德州超導中心創始主任及首席科學家; 同時也是臺灣綜合大學系統榮譽校長及香港科技大學的榮譽退休校長及教授。他出生于中國湖南, 先後取得臺灣國立成功大學理學學士學位, 紐約霍涵大學理學碩士學位, 加州大學聖地牙哥分校哲學博士學位, 均為物理專業。

在結束新澤貝爾實驗室的研究工作後,朱經武教授任職于克利夫蘭州立大學。 1979年, 他受聘于休斯頓大學。 在该校创建了數個研究中心,其中包括美太空署的太空外延中心和德州超導中心。于1987- 2001年間出任休斯頓大學德州超導中心创始主任; 2001-2009年, 擔任香港科技大學校長。 同時, 先後擔任多 所 機 構 的 顧 問 及 客 席 研 究 員, 包括貝爾實驗室、洛 斯 阿 拉 莫 斯 國 家 實 驗 室、馬 歇 爾 太 空 飛 行 中 心 、 阿 崗 國 家 實 驗 室 及 杜 邦公司等。

朱教授長期從事超導、磁性和介電相關材料物理研究, 成就卓越。 1987年1月, 他領導的研究小組成功發現93K(-180 °C) 新 超 導 材 料(第一次超過液氮溫度), 開創了高溫超導研究和應用的新紀元。在隨後的實驗中不斷發現新材料並刷新超導轉變溫度的記錄, 並于1993年將超導转变溫度提高到164K(-109 °C)。 目前, 他仍活躍在高溫超導基礎研究及應用研究相關領域, 已在多家權威雜誌出版論文著作逾660篇。

他 獲 頒 授美國西北大學、福特漢姆大學、香港中文大學、佛羅里達國際大學、紐約州立大學法明代爾學院、香港浸會大學、臺灣靜宜大學、澳門大學、拉夫堡大學、惠特學院 名 譽 博 士 學 位。 1990年, 他 被《 美 國 新 聞 與 世界 報 道 》雜 誌 推 選 為 「美國 最 優 秀 的研 究 員」。 2000年, 他被哈特能源市場出版的《世紀動 力》評為本世紀在氣電方面最具影響力的一百位人士之一。

朱 教 授 他 屢 獲 殊 榮 , 包 括 美 國 科 學 界 最 高 榮 譽 的 國 家 科 學 獎 、 國 際 新 材 料 獎 、美國科學院Comstock獎、德州儀器公司創始人大獎、裡洛·蘭德·格魯曼(Leroy Randle Grumman)獎 ,世界文化理事會科學貢獻獎、紐約科學院物理與數學科學獎、馬蒂亞斯 (Bernd Matthias)獎、聖馬丁得波勒斯 (St. Martin de Porres) 獎, 以斯帖法费尔(Esther Farfel) 獎、約 翰 弗 裡 茨 (John Fritz) 大 獎、艾托裡馬約拉納-伊利斯 (Ettore Majorana - Erice ) - 科學和平獎 及IEEE應用超導的 Max Swerdlow 獎。

朱 教 授他擔任多家專業期刊編委,也是超導體商業應用聯盟董事會成員。 曾在美國、中國大陸、臺灣等地的多處委員會任職, 其中包括:美國國家科學獎章總統委員會 (2007-2009);美國國家研究理事會研究型大學委員會(2010-2011); 科技全球化委員會-國防部面臨的機遇與挑戰 (2013-2014); 美國國家科學院、國家工程院和國家醫學院組成的智慧科技專家組(2015-2019)。

 

朱經武教授於美國休士頓大學的網站

2018年10月

 

Back

 

回到最上