The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences held 4th AGM and Member Election, and announced new Honorary Member

The Hong Kong Academy of Sciences held its fourth Annual General Meeting and 2nd election of members on 26 November 2019.  The newly elected members are Prof Anthony Gar-On Yeh, the Chan To Haan Professor in Urban Planning and Design and Chair Professor in Urban Planning and Geographic Information Systems of HKU, Prof Zuowei Xie, Choh-Ming Li Professor of Chemistry of CUHK, and Prof Ping Sheng, Dr William M W Mong Professor Nanoscience and Chair Professor of Physics of HKUST.  Prof Lap-Chee Tsui, the Founding President of the Academy, congratulated the three new Members and looked forward to working with them.

At the Annual General Meeting, Prof Tsui was happy to announce that Prof S.T. Yau had accepted to be an Honorary Member of the Academy.   Prof Yau is renowned for his seminal achievement in mathematics internationally and his contribution to science and mathematics education and research in Hong Kong.


Press release

Back to top